FREE Space Barfs!

If you aren’t a Glitch Mob fan, you should be. After reading about some of their techniques I was inspired to make my own collection of “Space Barfs” as eDit calls them in this video here which explains a few studio techniques. Basically they are massive hits which often come on the “4” before a transition, somewhat like a drum fill.
I am going to explain how I made these ones so if you are inclined you can try making your own, or if not just use mine (but don’t release them commercially as your own creation!)
eDit says they just take regular drum hits and compress the bejeebers out of them and cut them or expand their timing to be exactly 1 quarter note. For those of you with DAWs this is easy to do, and for my brethren of Korg ESX users, just drop it into a stretch part and set the length to four 1/16th notes.
You can make a selection of hits with qualities like kick drum, snare drum, tom, as well as pitched hits with and without warps and warbles. The ones I made are mainly glitchy, warped, transformer like sounds.
These were all created on my Korg ESX. I started out a pattern by adding hits on beat 1 for most of the Drum Parts and Stretch Parts. Then I chose some interesting sounds and added modulation. I really like the tempo sync’d pitch or cutoff modulation and the Envelope like drop on pitch as well. Then some quick automation (Motion Sequence in Korg speak) to both the sounds and effects.
Then to re-sample on the Korg. This is easily done by pressing Shift+Record. When you hit play it begins playing back the pattern and resampling it at the same time. Once it is re-sampled, it needs to be edited. Pull up the sample on the Korg ESX by pressing the Sample button. The re-sampled sound is automatically in the Sample “buffer”. You need to trim it a little and normalize it.
I like to chop off the first 1000 to 1300 samples because there seems to be a slight delay on the Korg’s resampling. Then I truncate it by pressing Shift+12. Now I set the end by using my handy sample length calculator. If I just resampled a 1/4 note Space Barf at 100BPM, I can tell that (using Math! Darn it those high school math instructors were right, math is useful!) the length should be exactly 26,460 samples long. Set the ESX end time to that and BAM, you’re almost there.
Now to set the Stretch length in the Korg ESX. If I want the Space barf to be 1/4 note long, I page down in the Sample menu to “Stretch Step” and set it to 4 (meaning Four 1/16th notes. Darn, Math again!).
Normalize it by pressing Shift+11 and then 11 once it asks you to confirm.
That is it.

Here are some of my Space Barfs for you to use in your own music. Hopefully you can use them. If you make any of your own, I would love if you share them with me so I can re-post them for others as well.

Download image

To DOWNLOAD, you need to be a follower of my blog (The “Follow/Download” button is in the left sidebar near the top). You will get a confirmation email with your download code.

Reviews and Comments:

